Regaining Steam.

I used to write everyday. I woke up before my wife and boys, and I wrote. After I sent my dears off to sleep, I would write.

Took its toll, sure, but I loved it.

Then I stopped.

I started running a publisher and also started working part time again.

I kept telling myself that I would pick it back up again, when l was less busy.

Then. Life. Just. Kept. HAPPENING!

I thought back to when I started writing. How I would just write. Didn’t matter where, when, or how. I’d just write.

At school? I’d write.

At work? (Where I am now), write write write.

Out with my friends, or family? If there was ever a lull in conversation, pre-iPhone, I’d be scribbling in a composition book. Now, I use the notepad feature to write.

Tell the truth, I still do all of that. However, I don’t do it consistently.

Rather, I didn’t.

In the past year. I’ve picked up where I left off.

Let me tell you, it’s rough. I’m doing it though.

A quote I like along these lines comes from Og Mandino.

Remember that the most difficult tasks are consummated, not by a single explosive burst of energy or effort, but by the constant daily application of the best you have within you.

I love this quote. I love the idea behind it. It’s something I do my best to remember daily.

It all boils down to a simple word: Habit.

I fell out of the habit of writing. Started treating it like a hobby instead of a serious commitment. I’m getting back into the habit.

Like I said, it’s rough, but it’s doable.

If I can do do it you can too.

Some of you who’re reading this might be saying: All well and good to say ”If I can do it you can too”. But I don’t have any time. I have a job. I have a family. I have commitments. Applying myself daily just isn’t feasible.

Right. Understandable. Bills need to be paid. Food needs to be put on the table. Little ones need to be cared for.

You don’t work all the time, though.

Stay with me here.

The work day ends. The kids will, (eventually), fall asleep. Leaving you with time to…

Fall asleep yourself.

Before you do, though. You could be writing.

Or, if you’re dead on your feet, you could sleep a bit first. (Sleep is God. Worship often). When rested, wake up a little earlier than normal and write.

You can also write on your lunch breaks. Or during slow periods at your job. Again, I’m writing this while I’m at work…

Wait a damn minute! Why’re you talking about this?

Well, there’s a point to it.

Habit is everything. Especially when you want to write.

I’ve taken a look at some writing advice online, and I’ll avoid re-posting it ad nauseum. I will, however, post the links of some of the articles below. Great advice.

The most important thing to do is to write every day.

Even if you don’t like what you write, write. Get into the habit. Keep the habit sustained. Even if you write crap, save it. You never know if it will turn into something.

What are you still doing here? Get writing!

BONUS FEATURES!

Here are the articles on writing I found in the course of researching this article. Like I said, good advice here.

Check out the 12 daily routines of writers for some interesting insights into your favorite writers daily habits. (Kurt Vonnegut’s is especially interesting).

The 21 day Myth by Jason Selk

12 daily routines of writers By James Clear

7 habits of highly successful writers by John Rampton

Leave a comment